If you’ve been exploring energy healing, you may have come across something about chakras, or chakra healing. Like other energy healing practices, chakra healing may help you balance your body’s energy, feel more balanced, or even boost your physical wellness. But if you’re not sure what the chakras are or what they can be used for, you’re in the right place. This article will explore each of the 7 chakras, what they mean, and what they have to do with energy healing. We’ll even give you some tips for how you can use chakra healing in your own life. 

The chakras are known to energy healing enthusiasts as the body’s energy centers. They run from the tailbone to the crown of your head, in front of your spine. While you can’t see them, they make up a key part of the human body’s energy field. Chakras and chakra healing has been used for thousands of years as a means of balancing the body’s energy for physical, emotional, and physical wellbeing. 

Here is a quick description of each chakra. As you read, see if you can tune into each one. Use this as an opportunity to mentally check in with each chakra, sense its location, and feel its energy. The descriptions will help you learn what feelings spring from each one. Be mindful of those feelings and where they come from. Consider what feels free or easy about each emotion, and what feels more difficult for you right now.

Root Chakra – Muladhara – Support or Base

The first of the chakras, the root chakra lies at the perineum, or the tip of your tailbone. It’s related to grounding, survival, primal energy, and security. Chakra healing here may help you feel strong and safe. Close your eyes and imagine the strength that lies here.

Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthana

This second chakra is connected with sexuality, pleasure, creativity, and relationships. It lies at the womb or sacrum, and may overlap the root chakra. If you’re a creative person, check in with this chakra often to make sure it doesn’t feel blocked. Feel creativity flowing from this area.

Solar Plexus – Manipura

Located near the stomach, this third chakra has to do with inner strength, self control, vitality, and assertiveness. A healthy solar plexus may help you set boundaries and voice your needs. Chakra healing of the solar plexus may help you reclaim your power and act on behalf of what you want. If you feel like you have “guts” or “moxy,” you may be strong here.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

Of course, the heart chakra is in the center of your chest. It’s associated with love, along with compassion, forgiveness and self-esteem. Balance in the heart chakra is related with a feeling of being centered. Chakra healing of the heart chakra may help you feel a sense of love without emotional pain; feeling more open to giving and receiving affection, trusting others, and feeling joy and gratitude.

Throat Chakra – Visuddha

It makes sense that this fifth chakra is connected with expression, communication and speech. When balanced, you may feel more free to be truthful, express your feelings in words, as well as listening to others do the same. Bockages or traumatic life events may energetically “strangle” your voice and leave you feeling incapable or unworthy of that expression. Chakra healing may help you regain the ability and desire to ring out your own truth.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

This is the sixth chakra, located between the eyebrows. It’s associated with intuition, vision, insight, and psychic awareness or ESP. If blocked or traumatized, you may find yourself overly vigilant in trying to see every possible bad outcome, or perceive every threat. Your visual field may narrow or be hyper focused on one thing at a time. Chakra healing in this area could help you be more relaxed, helping intuition and perception to come to you, rather than stressing about looking for it. 

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

Located above the crown of your head, this seventh chakra is your connection point with higher consciousness, higher power, or inspiration. This is your most spiritual chakra. If you feel disconnected from others, from deity, or from the universe, there could be something blocking this. Chakra healing can help you reestablish your sense of connectedness and spirituality.

Chakra Healing Exercise

Based on principles of energy healing, this Chakra healing exercise can help you check in with your entire chakra system. You can use this interactive chakra chart in this or other chakra healing exercises.

First, sit or lie down and relax. Starting at your tailbone, focus on relaxing each part of your spine into a supported position. As you move up from one chakra to the next, consider areas that feel cluttered, overwhelmed, or blocked. Also think about areas where you’re doing well — places that feel more clear and flowing. 

Does energy seem to flow freely from your root chakra all the way to your crown? What about flowing the other direction, from crown to root? Where you feel any sense of discomfort or blockage, lay a gentle hand on the area and tune in further. Mentally ask any energy that doesn’t belong there to flow away. Invite areas with more positive energy to support areas that may have less. Think of imbalances flowing from the root chakra, all the way up and out your crown. Let them go.

How Are You Feeling?

Use this chakra healing exercise as a chance to meditate and check in with how you’re feeling mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. Through chakra healing and tuning into each one, you may be able to identify areas where you’re struggling, or where you feel you’re not functioning at your peak. 

After checking in with chakras, consider using energy healing — specifically The Emotion Code® — to identify and release any Trapped Emotions that could be blocking or hampering chakra function. From our experience, we believe most people have several Trapped Emotions, and these may disturb the energy flow throughout your body. By releasing them, you may experience chakra healing more fully. You may feel lighter, happier, or more balanced right away.

Chakra healing is one of the most fundamental practices in energy healing. Quick chakra healing exercises done daily can help facilitate your body’s energy flow and improve your wellness on a physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual level.